10.3. Users

10.3.1. Overview Page
10.3.2. Details Page

The user accounts are created and edited in the Users section.

10.3.1. Overview Page

The overview page gives an overview of the user accounts in Klaros-Test­management. The user accounts are created, edited, activated and deactivated here.

The “Users” Page

Figure 10.5. The Users Page


The table shows the following values:

Additional Information

A tooltip appears when the cursor is placed over the icon shown here.

Username

The unique username.

Role

The user roles (Administrator, Test Manager, Tester, Guest).

Full Name

The full name of the user.

E-Mail

The email address of the user.

Actions

The executable actions.

10.3.1.1. Actions

The action column is located on the far right of the table. The following actions can be performed here:

  •   Edit
  •   Open print view
  •   Delete

If a user has been deleted, it is initially marked with a deletion marker and is only visible to administrators. For deleted users, the following action is available instead of Delete:

  •   Restore

10.3.1.2. Bulk Actions

Some actions can be applied to multiple user accounts at the same time. To do this, select the user accounts to which the action is to be applied in the leftmost column.

The following bulk actions are supported for user accounts:

  •   Edit
  •   Open print view
  •   Send Email
  •   Restore

Bulk actions are described in detail in Section 5.2.3.1.5, “Bulk Actions”

10.3.1.3. Table Operations

The following operations can be performed in the line above the table on the right:

  •   Filter / Sort
  • Show all / only active
  •   Export
  •   Column selection

All operations are described in detail in Section 5.2.3.1, “Overview Page”.

[Important] Changing User Roles

Users - including administrators - cannot change their own System Account flag or role. This can only be done from another user account that has the Administrator role.

10.3.1.4. Creating a new User

Clicking the New button creates a new user account ( Figure 10.5). The Username, Role, Full Name, and E-Mail attributes can be set here.

When the Save button is clicked, a dialog will appear for each new user account to set the Password and System Account flag ( Figure 10.6).

The “Save New User” Dialog

Figure 10.6. The Save New User Dialog


Per default users of the role Administrator or Manager are able to create new user accounts. Users of the role Manager can only create accounts of the role Tester or Guest.

[Tip] Restricting Account Creation to Administrators

If a more restrictive policy is desired, the Only Administrators can create Users setting can be used. See Section 10.4.1, “Miscellaneous” for more information.

10.3.1.5. Deleting a User

Clicking the icon page deactivates the user account. Only users of the role Administrator can see and reactivate deactivated user accounts.

[Note] Users can only be deactivated, not deleted!

By toggling the Only Active and Show All button above the table, administrators can hide or show desctivated user accounts.

10.3.2. Details Page

Each user account has its own detail page with several additional tabs. Clicking on the ID of the respective user account or on the icon on the right in the action column takes you to the tab that was selected last. When called for the first time, this is the Overview tab.

The “Properties” Tab

Figure 10.7. The Properties Tab


The following tabs are available: Properties, Project Roles, Jobs, Results and Changes.

10.3.2.1. Actions

On the detail pages, there are additional icons in the top right corner of the header. The following actions can be performed here:

  Open print view

A print-ready view of the user account can be created here. With a click on the icon this opens in a new browser tab.

Print views are described in detail in Section 5.2.3.2.1, “Print Pages”.

    Browse

Use the green arrows at the very top right to switch between the user accounts present on the previous page.

10.3.2.2. Properties

This tab ( Figure 10.7) allows the user to view or change the following attributes of the user account:

Username

The login name of the user

Full Name

The full name of the user

E-Mail

The user's email address which is used for email notifications. If a corresponding event has been configured (see Section 10.4.2, “Notifications”) and an email address is specified when creating a new user (see Section 10.3.1.4, “Creating a new User”), this user will receive a registration email with username and password.

System Account

If this box is checked, this user will not be able to log in to the login page. System accounts are intended for automated tasks such as importing data.

Active

If this box is checked, this user will not be able to log in to the login page.

Password

The password to log in to Klaros-Test­management.

Retype Password

Confirmation of the password.

User Role

The user role. Available roles are Administrator, Test Manager, Tester or Guest.
[Note] Limitations when Changing User Roles

Users can not change their own System Account flag and Role. This must be done by another user with administrator role.

10.3.2.3. Project Roles

The Project Roles tab shows the project roles the user has in projects with project specific roles (see Section 6.1.2.5, “Access” for more information on how to assigned project-specific roles to a project). Administrators can change the project roles for these projects here.

This tab is available once the first project has been assigned project-specific roles.

The “Project Roles” Tab

Figure 10.8. The Project Roles Tab


Pressing the Assign button opens up a dialog with a list of all projects with project specific roles that the user isn't assigned to yet. Pressing the Ok button assigns the user to the selected projects.

The “Assign Project Roles” Dialog

Figure 10.9. The Assign Project Roles Dialog


10.3.2.4. Jobs

The Jobs tab lists all the jobs assigned to the user. See Section 7.1, “Jobs” for more information on how to manage jobs.

10.3.2.5. Results

The Results tab shows all the test results of the tests that the user has executed, see Section 5.2.3.2.7, “Test Runs and Results”.

10.3.2.6. Changes

In the Changes tab the change history for the user can be found, see Section 5.2.3.2.8, “Change History”.